Here’s where I’m at….

For anyone wondering what I’ve already read, here it is. Forgive the lack of dog in the picture, but I didn’t want to have to dismantle my shelf and get him to sit still.  The struggles.

I’ve read 17 books so far this year.  I’ll give an easy run down of each, in the order shown in the picture.

  • The Affair by Lee Child.  If you’re like me and you saw Jack Reacher before you read any of the books, you will be sorely disappointed.  Tom Cruise does not fit the description.  The book was good, but not great.  Reacher pretty much knew whodunit from the beginning, and that made it pretty anti-climactic.
  • The Alibi by Sandra Brown.  This one had me going.  The main character makes you want to slap him sometimes in a “what are you thinking?!” kind of way.  However, the plot twist got me.
  • Barkskins by Annie Proulx.  I got this in my Powell’s Indiespensible book box.  It follows two logging families from early colonial to modern times, and in that way is fascinating.  I found that for me at least, it lacked any climax as well.  I’m also glad there were family trees in it, because holy moly there are a lot of names to remember.
  • Bone Gap by Laura Ruby.  This one was a little kooky.  A girl disappears, and the only witness is unreliable at best.  He doesn’t give up trying to find her, and eventually finds himself slipping through the gaps in Bone Gap.
  • The Book of Air and Shadows by Michael Gruber.  This follows along the lines of the Da Vinci Code (which I love), but instead of the Holy Grail, may lead to an unpublished work of Shakespeare.  It flicks back and forth between characters and every storyline eventually meets.  It was a page turner.
  • Bright Lines by Tanwi Nandini Islam.  I got this in a book box as well.  It’s a coming-of-age, finding yourself kind of story.  It was certainly sad in some points, but did have a relatively happy ending.  I love the cover art.
  • Confess by Colleen Hoover.  The first of her books I’ve read, I think I’m now a Colleen Hoover fan.  I loved the confessions in the book and how they connected with the characters, but I was also kept guessing about what was coming.  I could not put this one down.
  • Descent by Tim Johnston.  I wanted this book for a long time, so I wanted to like it.  In reality, I found it to be okay.  Girl gets taken, family is looking.  I did like having her point of view to see how she was doing, but I didn’t get as into it as I thought I would.
  • A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron.  Honestly, I bought this at Target because I forgot my other book at home.  And it was a good story.  My problem was that I was expecting Dug from Up to be talking to me.  The dog sounded too human for my liking.  Plus I cried whenever the dog died, so there’s that too.
  • The Edge of Lost by Kristina McMorris.  I 100% recommend this.  I couldn’t stop reading it.  It focuses on Shan, a man who seems bad in the beginning, but once you hear his story, you get attached to him.  I need to buy more books from this author.
  • Every Fifteen Minutes by Lisa Scottoline.  This was a page turner, and my first book of the year.  It shows you how people can really mess with your head.  A prominent psychologist gets accused of a crime, and the person who is framing him really messes with him.  It’s a good one.  The plot twist gets you.
  • A Girl’s Guide to Moving On by Debbie Macomber.  The main characters are both newly divorced women trying to find love again, and you will hate their exes.  But they are both able to make a new life for themselves, and the ending is happy.
  • The Invention of Wings by Sue M0nk Kidd.  The author of The Help wrote this one, and if you liked that book, you’ll probably enjoy this too.  The daughter of a prominent white family in the south befriends her given slave, and it follows the two women through years of friendship and hardships.  Sad in parts, but a good read.
  • John Carter of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs.  I have never read a book that uses the word “gorgeous” so many times.  The stories are interesting but all started to feel the same.  John Carter, goes to Mars, beats people up, all the women fall in love with him.  The end.
  • Smack by Melvin Burgess.  This is about drugs, obviously.  I had a hard time reading it.  It’s a heck of a downward spiral for all of the characters.
  • A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth.  As huge as this book is (almost 1500 pages), I got through it quickly.  It follows four Indian families and is essentially about finding a suitable marriage for one of the daughters, but it’s also so much more than that.  It was really enjoyable to read.
  • Tuesday Nights in 1980 by Molly Prentiss.  The main character has synesthesia, which is fascinating.  He’s an art critic in the 1980s who uses his abilities to describe art in wild ways.  The descriptions are so fascinating.

 

Sorry for how long this was.  I can give more info if anyone wants it, or check me out on Goodreads for my ratings of everything!

Leave a Reply

